Stations of the Cross



The Stations of the Cross series was a commissioned work for St. Bede's Episcopal Church in Forest Grove, Oregon, just outside Portland.

The commission was a wonderful project for me both artistically and spiritually. The Stations of the Cross have traditionally been used as a visual means of following in the footsteps of Christ's Passion, and as such is used as a spiritual tool by church goers.

I spent two months working on the initial drawings and compositions, and another three months painting the 14 watercolors below. The installation was held in February of 2005.

At the beginning of 2008, a Catholic church volunteer in Malaysia emailed me, requesting permission to use these images on the church Web site, noting that she "finds [the artwork] very unusual." I granted them this permission, and thus began a very unexpected blessing that has come out of the painting of the Stations. Since that first request, many more requests have come in from all over the world. Go to my Out and About page to see a listing of Geographic Locations where requests have come from.

In order to gain permission for use of my images, I require a description of the project in written form. If I feel that the request meets the use for which these paintings were intended, then I will send an electronic use agreement that the requesting party needs to agree to. I ask that a written request be made for each project.

Artist's note: all paintings are 11" x 15" and were done on Arches Cold Press #300 paper.
All works are copyright protected.

Stations of the Cross


First station:
Jesus is Condemned
to Death


Second Station:
Jesus Takes up His Cross


Third Station:
Jesus Falls the
First Time



Fourth Station:
Jesus Meets His
Afflicted Mother


Fifth Station:
The Cross is Laid on
Simon of Cyrene


Sixth Station:
A Woman Wipes the
Face of Jesus


Seventh Station:
Jesus Falls a
Second Time

Eighth Station:
Jesus Meets the
Women of Jerusalem


Ninth Station:
Jesus Falls a Third Time

Tenth Station:
Jesus is Stripped of
His Garments


Eleventh Station:
Jesus is Nailed to the Cross
Twelfth Station:
Jesus Dies on the Cross


Thirteenth Station:
The body of Jesus
is Placed in the Arms
of His Mother


Fourteenth Station:
Jesus is Laid
in the Tomb